When making configuration changes related to Dynamic Access Control (DAC), such as when updating User Role Setup records, Matching Sharing Rules, Custom Sharing Rules, Document Type Group records, or lifecycle role permissions, Vault recalculates DAC after each configuration change. This can cause significant system processing load when making extensive configuration changes.

To lighten the system processing load during bulk configuration updates, Vault Admins can suspend DAC recalculations by selecting the Suspend DAC Sharing Settings Calculations Admin setting checkbox. After making the necessary configuration changes, Admins can resume DAC recalculations by clearing the Suspend DAC Sharing Settings Calculations Admin setting checkbox. Vault then performs the DAC recalculations in a single bulk pass according to the updated configuration.

We recommend you suspend DAC recalculations when your planned configuration changes meet both of the following criteria:

  • When the planned changes will impact 75% or more of the documents or object records in the Vault
  • When more than one million documents or five million object records are secured with DAC sharing settings in the Vault

Suspending and Resuming DAC Calculations

To suspend DAC recalculations, navigate to Admin > Settings > Security Settings, click Edit in the Dynamic Access Control (DAC) Sharing Settings Suspension section, select the Suspend DAC Sharing Settings Calculations checkbox, and click Save. After saving the setting, Vault suspends all DAC calculations and displays a banner indicating that DAC sharing settings calculations have been suspended.

To resume DAC calculations after making configuration updates, click Edit in the Dynamic Access Control (DAC) Sharing Settings Suspension section, select the Suspend DAC Sharing Settings Calculations checkbox, and click Save. After saving the setting, Vault begins the DAC sharing settings recalculations and displays a banner indicating that sharing settings are in the process of being updated. During DAC recalculation, Vault locks the Suspend DAC Sharing Settings Calculations setting checkbox. Once the DAC recalculation is complete, Vault unlocks the Suspend DAC Sharing Settings Calculations setting and displays a banner indicating that DAC sharing settings calculations have been resumed.

The following permissions control the ability to suspend and resume DAC recalculations:

Type Permission Label Controls
Security Profile Admin: Security Settings: Edit Grants edit access to the settings on the Admin > Settings > Security Settings page.